How is it celebrated and what things are “forbidden” on Good Friday?

Good Friday is one of the most representative dates of Holy Week in the Catholic and Christian religion

Good Friday is a very important symbolic date for the Catholic Church by covering all the images of Jesus with purple cloth, especially those that show the crucifix, in order to reflect on and commemorate the passion, death and resurrection of Jesus.

What does Good Friday mean?
Good Friday represents the sixth day of Holy Week that the crucifixion and death of Jesus of Nazareth is remembered, being the final act for the forgiveness of humanity’s sins, as interpreted by the Catholic and Christian Church.

Good Friday is celebrated after Holy Thursday and before Resurrection or Easter Sunday, the Catholic Church commands its faithful as penance to fast and abstain from meat. This day is also known as Great Friday, therefore, various ecclesiastical authorities usually dress in black to commemorate this biblical event, during Good Friday and Good Saturday.

What things are “forbidden” on Good Friday?
As it is a period of Jewish celebration and has been commemorated since ancient times, several traditions have been established during Holy Week that have ceased to be done over time. However, a considerable sector that professes some Catholic or Christian belief continues to:
• Withdrawal
• Avoid eating pork and beef
• Go partying
• Consume alcoholic beverages
• Avoid confrontations with relatives

These actions are considered as pagan acts, therefore, the authorities of the Church recognize this day as penitential and substitute some activities for the reading of the Holy Scripture, almsgiving and works of charity.

“On Good Friday, actions that can hurt people should be avoided and a good relationship with the family should be avoided. More than fasting and maintaining abstinence, what the church is asking for this season is to strengthen those relationships and vindicate our bad deeds,” said parish priest Luis Carlos Ayala.