Roger Federer will give his last performance in professional tennis in the doubles of the Laver Cup with Rafael Nadal: time and TV

Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer will make up the doubles team on the first day of the Laver Cup (Photo: Reuters) (ANDREW BOYERS/)

The O2 Sand London will be the stadium that will forever go down in history for hosting one of the most significant events in tennis: Roger Federer will put an end to his sports career in the first doubles duel of the Laver Cup in the company of another legend, Rafael Nadal. The outstanding players of Team Europe they will play the fourth game of the first day of the exhibition contest against the Americans Jack Sock Y Frances Tiafoerepresentatives of the Team World.

The scheduled start time for this duel will be associated with the duration of the confrontation previously The British Andy Murray will keep against the Australian Alex de Miñaur in the third game of the day. It is expected that that clash takes place at 7:00 p.m. in London (3:00 p.m. in Argentina)so that Your Majesty Y Rafe they should appear on the field at least an hour later.

The European representative is already 2-0 up after the Norwegian’s victories Casper Ruud vs. Sock (6-4, 5-7 and 10-7) and the solid triumph of the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas about the argentinian Diego Schwartzmann (6-2 and 6-1).

It should be noted that the duels are shorter than those usually developed in the circuit professional since they give the point to the winner of two sets, although if there is equality in the first two sets a super tie break develops (it is up to 11). For example, the first two presentations of the day lasted 1 hour 50 minutes and 1 hour 17 minutes.

That is, the hypothesis is that Murray-De Minaur should not extend beyond two hours. In this context, Nadal-Federer vs Sock-Tiafoe It will be between 20.30 and 21.30 in London approximately (4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. from Argentina).

Roger was already present at the London stadium during the start of the action of this exhibition tournament that was born in 2017 thanks to his drive. During the presentation of the teams, Federer jumped into last place behind Tsitsipas, Murray, Ruud, Nadal and Novak Djokovic earning a standing ovation from the thousands of spectators present.

Although strictly it will be the farewell of Your Majesty of professional tennis, the statistics will indicate that the 41-year-old Swiss played his last game on the circuit was on July 7, 2021 when Poland‘s Hubert Hurkacz edged him 6-3 7-6 (4) 6-0 in the Wimbledon quarterfinals, marking his first three-set loss at the All England Club in 19 years.

The training of the Big Four before the first day (Photo: Reuters)
The Big Four training before the first day (Photo: Reuters) (ANDREW BOYERS /)

More than a year after that event, and a week after the official announcement of his departure from tennis, the legendary player has already trained with his teammates in the Laver Cup, which has a peculiarity since it is made up of the renowned Big Four that dominated the circuit in the last two decades.

The damn knee injury prevented him from seeing the best version of Roger in recent years and ended up pushing him into retirement, even though he tried to recover over the past few months with the desire to return to Wimbledon or the Basel Open in his country. He failed to improve and decided to step aside in the Laver Cup that he promoted in 2017 in Prague.

The last three years have presented me with challenges in the form of injuries and surgeries. I have worked hard to return to my best competitive version. But I also know the capabilities and limits of my body, and his message to me was clear. I have 41 years old. I have played more than 1500 games in the last 24 years. Tennis has treated me more generously than I dreamed, and now I must admit that it is time to end my competitive career.”, he explained in the statement that went viral the previous week.

Start time of the action of the day: 7:00 p.m. London (Andy Murray vs. Alex de Miñaur)

Latin American schedules: 3:00 p.m. (Argentina – Uruguay – Chile) / 2:00 p.m. (Venezuela – Paraguay) / 1:00 p.m. (Mexico – Colombia – Peru – Ecuador)

Approximate schedule of Federer’s match: 4:30 p.m. (Argentina – Uruguay – Chile) / 3:30 p.m. (Venezuela – Paraguay) / 2:30 p.m. (Mexico – Colombia – Peru – Ecuador)

TV: ESPN2

KEEP READING:

Imposing ovation for Roger Federer on the day of his last match as a professional tennis player

The secrets of Roger Federer’s supportive side: “It’s good to be important, but it’s more important to be good”

Source-www.infobae.com