Privacy is one of the most controversial and sensitive topics today, especially on popular operating systems like Android or Windows. In this opportunity, you will be able to know all the options that you can change on your smartphone, and it will be up to you to decide what to change depending on how much privacy you want.
Google’s new mobile operating system, Android 12, had several months of testing, beta phases and the occasional version for developers. However, the tech giant has released it for all devices compatible with this new technology and Since last October 25, it has been available on smartphones as long as they have received the update notification.
Before starting, it should be clear that total privacy doesn’t exist on most operating systems, and Android 12 is no exception. In addition to that, keep in mind the multiple tools that Google has and some of them are public. But that does not mean that there are no options to try to keep your privacy to the maximum.
Thus, 5 configurations that you can make in the Privacy settings of your Android smartphone will be explained below.
– Privacy Panel
First, check out the new Android 12 Privacy panel to see how your apps are using your permissions and to detect which of these are unnecessary.
To do this, the first thing to do is go to the android settings, click on the section Privacy and an eye icon will appear.
Once in the Privacy section, you should now click on the option Privacy panel, which will appear at the top.
Now you will find the privacy panel, where you can see the permissions that your applications have used in the last 24 hours. If you think that it is being too frequent by accessing one of them too much, such as the camera, you can press directly to show connection app list.
When accessing any of the privacy panel permissions, you will enter a section where you can see the chronological list of the applications that have used it, so that you can know if there are any applications that you do not use or that should not have had access to your authorization at some point.
If this happens, you will have a button Manage Permissions to access the options to manage this authorization that you will see below.
– Not giving access to your exact location
When managing localization permissions, you will find a different option. In addition to the options to allow location access to the application that you configured, you can disable the Use precise location option, so that the information they obtain about their geolocation becomes more generic.
The problem with location permission is that many apps need it to be able to show you content near you. That’s all, because it allows you to tell the apps that it’s worth it, you’re in that city or neighborhood, but without them knowing your exact address, so it’s a compromise between giving it to you or not giving you access to your position.
– Disable access to your camera and microphone
In the Privacy section, you have two very useful options to take care of your privacy. You will have two boxes to disable full access to the camera and microphone from any application or service you have installed. In this way, no application or service will be able to access the permissions to use the camera and microphone.
When you are in situations that really require the utmost care of your privacy, this will completely cut off access to this type of data to ensure that no application launches it without having to go through authorization settings.
– Disable find device option
The Find Device option constantly sends information to Google about the location of your mobile phone so that if it gets lost, you know where you last got it.
If you do not want to send this data to Google, go to the section Security from the Android settings and click on the option Find my device.
When you go to Find My Device, you can see information on how to access it from the web. If you deactivate it, Google will no longer have the exact position of your mobile. Of course, it is important that you know that, In case you have decided to deactivate the option, you will no longer be able to know where the mobile is if it is lost.
– Limit the data that is sent to Google
Android is owned by Google, and the search engine company gets its fair share of personal data with everything it does. However, you decide what data to send to Google, both your locations and your activities.
Here, to get started, you need to enter the Setting Android and enter the section Privacy, where you can access various options to change these settings.
In the Privacy section, if you click on the option Google location history, you will enter a page in your Google account settings where you can disable the sending of information about the sites you visit to Google. Still in the Privacy section, if you click on the option Activity controls You will access another important page in your Google account settings.
You can also click the option Use and diagnosis, which will take you to a screen where you can choose not to send usage and diagnostic data to Google. This data contains information about Android crashes, and what it was doing when they happened and Google uses it to fix errors.
4 iPhone tricks revealed by a former Apple employee
Learn why a mix-up has caused the Apple Podcast to reverse its streak of poor ratings
League of Legends: Wild Rift already has a world champion